down arrowMenu

Division of Student Affairs

Student Affairs employees honored for diversity initiatives

Posted on Wednesday, January 27th, 2010

One of UNI's institutional priorities is to value, promote and teach about diversity. An appreciation of diversity is an essential component of an excellent education. The recent Diversity Town Hall meeting brought the campus community together to assess progress on campus diversity initiatives.

The Student Affairs Division was well represented among ten UNI employees honored for their significant contributions to enhancing diversity at the University of Northern Iowa. The Diversity Matters Awards were presented Thursday, January 21, at the Diversity Town Meeting. Dr. Terry Hogan, UNI Vice President for Student Affairs and UNI Diversity Council chair, organized the event as a celebration of accomplishments and a call to action for more progress.

UNI media release on Diversity Town Hall meeting:

Photo 1: The 2010 UNI Diversity Matters Award recipients are, from left,: Roland Carrillo, former director of financial aid; Rita Carrillo, dining services administration; Angel Banks, a senior public administration major from Gary, Ind.; Reg Pecen, associate professor of industrial technology; Chris Edginton, director of UNI's School of Health, Physical Education & Leisure Services (HPELS); Janet McClain, director of the Multicultural Initiatives in Teaching (MIT) Program; Gloria Adams, a graduate student majoring in school counseling; and Juanita Wright, assistant director of financial aid and scholarships. Award winners Martha Reineke, professor of religion, and John Somervill, professor of psychology, were not present for the photograph.