Division of Student Affairs

Board of Directors for the Northern Iowan


The purpose of the Board shall be to govern, under the provisions of the Constitution and its Bylaws, the official student newspaper of the University of Northern Iowa, the Northern Iowan. The Board appoints the official Executive Editor and Managing Editor for the Northern Iowan and other officers, as it deems advisable. The Board also determines the payment of salaries and commissions to the staff members of the Northern Iowan.


The Board consists of three student members (graduate or undergraduate) appointed by the Office of Student Affairs. None of the students may be a current NISG Executive Officer or member of the NISG Senate or a current staff member of the Northern Iowan. Four members are appointed by the President of the University. Three of the members shall be faculty and one member may be either faculty or staff. One of the four members shall be designated by the President of the University as Executive Secretary of the Board. All four members, including the Executive Secretary, shall be voting members of the Board.

Current Membership

  Appointed by the President
Professor, Executive Secretary of the Board Christopher Martin Term ends May 2020
Assistant Professor Justin Holmes Term ends May 2019
Associate Professor Adrienne Lamberti Term ends May 2021
Senior Director of Development Cassie Luze  Term ends May 2019

  Appointed by the Division of Student Affairs
Student Trevor Fletcher Term ends May 2019
Student Denise Kassis Term ends May 2019
Student Open Term ends May 2019


Advisor Laura Smith
Northern Iowan Manager Michele Smith

To read the full version of the Constitution and Bylaws, click here.