Division of Student Affairs

Professional Development

Professional Development Opportunity:

Breaking Barriers

Employee Professional Development Committee Fall 2018 Conference
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Maucker Union
Register to Attend 

8:15 - 9:00  a.m.   -  University Room     

Welcome and Opening Remarks - Dr. Paula Knudson
Keynote Address - Dr. Susan Hill

9 - 11 a.m.   

World Cafe lead by Steven Sajkich
A World Café or Knowledge Café is a structured conversational process for knowledge sharing in which groups of people discuss a topic at several tables, with individuals switching tables periodically and getting introduced to the previous discussion at their new table.

11 - 11:50 a.m. Concurrent Session - Elm Room

Are Our Truths Honest?:  Diversity, Inclusion & Social Justice
What do you think about diversity, inclusion and social justice? 
Presenter:  Emily Harsch, Chiquita Loveless and Keyah Levy

11 - 11:50 a.m. Concurrent Session - State College Room

Smart Meal Prep Easy to Make Your Week Less Hectic
Struggling to have time during the week to prepare healthy meals?  Lisa will walk you through some great prep techniques, recipes, and healthy ideas to make meal planning and meal prep easier.
Presenter:   Lisa Smith

11 - 11:50 a.m. Concurrent Session - Oak Room

Staying SAFE
The best defense against violence is to be prepared and be proactive.  Andrea Jennings, UNI Police Officer III, will provide an introduction to basic self defense techniques.
Presenter:  Andrea Jennings 

Online Training for UNI Faculty, Staff and Students

UNI faculty, staff and students have access, through their CatID, to the Lynda.com Online Training Library which contains over 1,100 courses and 66,000 video tutorials for access anytime, anywhere with Internet access. Start using Lynda.com >

Volunteer Opportunities

Volunteer Thursdays

Committee Membership

The Professional Development Committee was developed to support and communicate the professional development opportunities for Student Affairs staff. Committee members include:

Co-Chairs: Carol Fletcher and Timothy Klatt
Amy Kliegl  Toni Babcock Haley Admire  
Steven Sajkich   Molly Ungs      Jade Horning